Jon Fishman’s *ZAPPA PICKS* Out october 15 On Rykodisc

As a longtime Frank Zappa fan, Fish jumped at the chance when Rykodisc approached him earlier this year to put out the first in a series of”Zappa Picks” CDs compiled by musicians influenced or inspired by the Zappa’s music.

Ryko releases two discs this October, one from Fishman and one from Larry “Ler” La Londe of Primus. The release is “a very personal collection,” according to Fishman, who also wrote extensive liner notes to the set.

Fishman’s picks are:

1. Excentrifugal Forz – from Apostrophe (‘)
2. Apostrophe (‘) – from Apostrophe (‘)
3. Magdalena – from Just Another Band From L.A.
4. Dog Breath – from Just Another Band From L.A.
5. Cheepnis – from Roxy & Elsewhere
6. Son of Orange County – from Roxy & Elsewhere
7. More Trouble Every Day – from Roxy & Elsewhere
8. It Can’t Happen Here – from Freak Out!
9. Keep It Greasey – from Joe’s Garage
10. For Calvin (And His Next Two Hitch-Hikers) – from The Grand Wazoo
11. What Ever Happened To All The Fun In the World – from Sheik Yerbouti
12. Rat Tomago – from Sheik Yerbouti
13. Wait A Minute – from Sheik Yerbouti
14. It Just Might Be A One-Shot Deal – from Waka/Jawaka
15. I’m The Slime – from Over-nite Sensation
16. Sofa No. 2 – from One Size Fits All

“Zappa Picks” will be released in stores on October 15, but are
available for pre-order from Phish Dry Goods:
For general
information about the Zappa Picks series, see: